News & Events 2019/20

Autumn Term 2019

Christmas Holidays

School closes Friday 20 December at 1.30pm  

Wishing everyone a Merry Christmas and a Happy New Year!


Half Term Heroes Assembly

on Friday 20 December from 9.15am


Friends of Springfield Christmas Disco

on Thursday 19 December from 3.15pm to 4.15pm


Christmas Parties

on Thursday 19 December for everyone! All the children can come in today wearing their ‘Party’ clothes.  Lunchtime arrangements will be as normal


Christmas Fayre

on Wednesday 18 December in the Hall from 3.15pm to 4.00pm


Christingle Service

On Wednesday 18 December from 9.30am at St Catherine’s Church, parents/carers & grandparents all welcome


Christmas Nativity Performance

on Tuesday 17 December at St Catherine’s Church from 9.30am performed by Reception, Y1 & Y2


Springfield Choir

will be performing at St Catherine’s Church ‘Christmas Concert’ on Friday 13 December from 7.00pm to 8.00pm with the Vocalise Community Choir and Queen Elizabeth Grammar School Choir


Friends of Springfield Non-Uniform Day

on Friday 13 December the children can come to school wearing a ‘Christmas Jumper’ in return for a Christmas themed donation for the FofS Tombola Stall. Thank you for your support


Christmas Choir Performances

Members of the choir will be performing at the following venues:

on Tuesday 10 December at 1.30pm at Walton Lane Care Home

on Wednesday 11 December at 1.15pm at Jalna Care Home

on Thursday 12 December at 10.00am at Tesco


Ho! Ho! Ho! – Christmas Lunch

will be served from 11.50am on Wednesday 11 December.  The whole school will be catered for so, no packed lunches needed today and there will be no charge for those who normally pay!


Towneley Park

on Thursday 28 November ‘Lily Pad’ will be visiting Towneley Park for the afternoon and will be back before 3.15pm


Parents Evening

on Wednesday 27 November from 3.30pm to 5.30pm


Tri Golf Competition

on Tuesday 26 November at Unity College from 4.00pm to 5.00pm


Sports Hall Athletics Competition

on Tuesday 19 November at Unity College from 4.00pm to 5.30pm


Flu Vaccines

on Tuesday 19 November from 1.00pm for every pupil in school who’s parent/carer have consented


Children in Need

on Friday 15 November all the children can come to school in fancy dress/non-uniform clothes for £1.00 donation per child. Pudsey sends a big THANK YOU to everyone taking part


Open Evening

on Thursday 14 November from 4.00pm to 6.30pm and everyone is welcome including parents/carers and prospective students


Sports Hall Athletics Competition

on Tuesday 12 November at Unity College from 4.00pm to 5.30pm


Phonics Meeting for R, Y1 & Y2 Parents/Carers

on Monday 11 November at 2.30pm to provide you with Phonics information, we look forward to seeing you there


Non-Uniform Day

on Friday 1 November the children can come to school wearing their Halloween Costumes/non uniform for a £1.00 donation to Springfield School Fund


Halloween Fancy Dress Disco

on Thursday 31 October from 5.30pm to 6.30pm – organised by the Friends of Springfield


Half Term Heroes Assembly

on Friday 18 October from 9.15am


Harvest Festival Service

on Wednesday 16 October at St Catherine’s Church from 9.30am – Parents/Carers and Grandparents are welcome to join us


Library Visit

on Friday 04 October – in the morning – Y5 & Y6 will be visiting the Burnley Library to celebrate the ‘Burnley Literary Festival’


SWAT Event

our SWAT Ambassadors will be attending an event on Monday 30 September at the Burnley Youth Theatre


Macmillan Coffee Morning

This will be held in the Nurture ‘Lily Pad’ Room on Friday 27 September from 9.00am to 11.00am in support of Macmillan Cancer Support

All the children can come to school in ‘non-uniform’ for a £1.00 donation.  Thank you for your support


Y5 &Y6 Trip to the Imperial War Museum in Salford

on Thursday 26 September


Tempest Photography

will be in school on Wednesday 25 September to take individual/sibling photographs from 9.00am


Friends of Springfield

meeting on Monday 16 September from 3.20pm


Autumn Term Swimming

Year 5 will be swimming this term starting on Tuesday 10 September and every Tuesday thereafter until Tuesday 10 December


Spring Term 2020

Y4 Bikeability

on Fridays 24 April and 01 May at Springfield from 9.30am to 12.00noon


POSTPONED UNTIL FURTHER NOTICE – F of S Bingo Evening

on Wednesday 1 April the Friends of Springfield are having a BINGO evening – eyes down at 6.00pm!


F of S Non-Uniform Day

on Friday 27 March the Friends of Springfield are having a Non-Uniform day in return for an Easter themed donation suitable for a BINGO prize, thank you!


CANCELLED – Hi 5 Netball Event

on Monday 23 March at Thomas Whitham Sixth Form, Barden Lane, from 4.00pm to 5.15pm


CANCELLED – Dance Event

on Wednesday 18 March at Spirit of Sport  from 4.00pm to 6.00pm


CANCELLED – Hi 5 Netball Event

on Tuesday 17 March at Thomas Whitham Sixth Form, Barden Lane, from 4.00pm to 5.15pm


Orienteering Event

on Tuesday 17 March at Towneley Park, from 10.00am to 11.30am


Quick Sticks Hockey

on Tuesday 10 March at Thomas Whitham Sixth Form, Barden Lane, from 4.00pm to 5.15pm


Tag Rugby Event

on Tuesday 10 March at Unity College from 9.30am to 12.30pm


Celebrating World Book Day – all week!

The Creeping Toad

on Friday 6 March a well-known storyteller from The Creeping Toad will be visiting for the day to work with the children


Sing Together School Concert 2020

On Thursday 5 March – Year 4 will be going to King Geroge’s Hall in Blackburn to take part in the SingTogether Concert


World Book Day

on Thursday 5 March the children and staff will be dressing up as their favourite book character.  Special activities to promote the love of books and reading will take place during the day and includes a visit from the Burnley Youth Theatre


Book Bistro

on Wednesday 4 March, families are invited to join us for our themed day ‘Share a Million Stories’ and sessions are as follows:

09.10am – 10.10am for Year 2 & Year 4                               

10.20am – 11.20am for Year 3 & Year 6

1.30pm – 2.30pm for Year 1 & Year 5


Football Competition

on Tuesday 25 February at Unity College from 4.00pm to 5.00pm


Half Term Heroes Assembly

on Friday 14 February from 9.15am


Valentines Disco

on Thursday 13 February from 3.15pm to 4.15pm organised by the ‘Friends of Springfield’


Phonics Session

on Thursday 13 February at Springfield from 2.45pm for Parents/Carers of pupils in Reception and Year 1 classes


Football Competition

on Tuesday 11 February at Unity College from 4.00pm to 5.00pm


Multi-Sports Festival

on Monday 10 February at Burnley College from 1.00pm to 2.15pm for a small group of children


Towneley Park

on Monday 10 February Year 4 will be visiting Towneley Park in the morning


NSPCC Number Day

on Friday 7 February we are raising funds for the NSPCC by having a fun Maths Day. All the children can wear non-uniform in return for a £1.00 per family donation, thanks everyone!


Athletics Competition

on Tuesday 4 February from 4.00pm to 5.10pm at Unity College for a small group of children


Spelling Bee

on Friday 24 January ‘Round 1’ will take place at Springfield, good luck everyone!


Able Maths Day

on Thursday 23 January at Christ the King Primary for some of our Y3 & Y4 pupils from 9.30am to 2.45pm


Scholastic Book Fair

on Wednesday 22 & Thursday 23 January in the School Hall from 3.15pm to 3.45pm


Sports Festival

on Wednesday 22 January from 9.30am to 10.45am at Sir John Thursby for a small group of children


Flu Vaccines

on Monday 13 January a ‘catch-up’ appointment for those children who were absent in November


Football Match

on Wednesday 8 January on the Astroturf at Unity College from 3.00pm to 4.00pm


Spring Term Swimming

Year 4 will be swimming this term starting on Tuesday 7 January and every Tuesday thereafter until 31 March


Springfield Choir

on Sunday 5 January members of the choir will be performing at St Catherine’s Church Epiphany Service from 6.15pm


Summer Term 2020

Kingswood Residential Trip for Year 6

from Friday 3 July to Sunday 5 July